The Prophets

Muslims believe that prophets and messengers were sent to nations throughout history.

They all came with the message ‘There is no God but Allah.’

It is estimated that about 124,000 prophets were sent over time.

Muslims believe in all the prophets, respecting all of them equally.

Muslims are not permitted to speak ill of any prophet.

25 Prophets are mentioned in the Qur’an by name:

Adam: The first human created by Allah.

Yunus (Jonah / Dhul-Nun): Means ‘The One of the Whale’; Running from his mission and being swallowed by the whale, Repenting inside the whale and being forgiven by Allah because of his faith, Prophesying to the land of Nineveh (an ancient city on the eastern bank of the Tigris River. It’s ruins are across the river from the city of Mosul, Iraq).

Nuh (Noah): Built the Ark. Lived for a 1000 years.

Idris (Enoch): Lived during a time when people had begun to worship fire; possessed great wisdom and knowledge; among the first men to use the pen as well as one of the first to observe the movement of the stars and set out scientific weights and measures.

Hud: Sent to the people of ʿĀd.

Saleh: Sent to the people of Thamud. Warned the people not to harm the ‘She-Camel’.

Lut (Lot): A nephew of Ibrahim (Abraham); Sent to the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah.

Shu’aib: Means ‘Who shows the right path’; Sent to the Midianites and the People of the Wood; Warned the people to end their fraudulent ways. Granted talent and eloquence in his language.

Ayyub (Job): Seen as man of ‘patience’ who was afflicted by suffering for a lengthy period of time; never lost faith in Allah and forever called to the Lord in prayer, asking Him to remove his affliction. Being blessed with great prosperity after his trial.

Harun (Aaron): Means ‘Mountain of strength’; Prophesying to the Israelites with Moses using the Law, Preaching against the creation of the Golden Calf, Being the helper of Moses.

Dhu’l-kifl (Ezekiel): Means ‘One of double’; Revered for his constancy and patience.

Sulaiman (Solomon): Means ‘man of peace’; Youngest son of the Prophet David (Dawud); Famed for his wisdom and fair judgements.

Ilias (Elias / Elijah): Predecessor to Al-Yasa; Told his people to come back to the worship of Allah and to leave the worship of idols.

Al-Yasa (Elisha): Known for prophesying to the people of Israel.

Zakariyya (Zechariah): Guardian of Mary, the mother of Jesus.

Yahya (John): Son of Zakariyya and cousin of Jesus; fortold the coming of Jesus.

Ibrahim (Abraham): Father of the Faiths.

Ismail (Ishmael): Helped build the Ka’bah. The Patriarch of the Arabs.

Ishaaq (Issac): Son of Prophet Abraham and brother of Prophet Ishmael. The Patriarch of the Israelites.

Ya’qub (Jacob): Son of Ishaaq (Issac); was a man of might and vision and was chosen by Allah to preach the Message.

Yusuf (Joseph): Son of Jacob. Had the ability to interpret dreams.

Dawud (David): Fought Goliath (Jaalut), given the Zaboor (Psalms).

Musa (Moses): Freed the children of Israel from the Pharaoh; given the Torah.

Isa (Jesus): Given the Injeel (Gospel/Bible).

Muhammad: The last and final messenger, the seal of the Prophets; given the Qur’an, sent for all mankind.

Peace be upon them all.

Note: Out of respect when Muslims refer to Prophet Muhammad they also say (صلي الله عليه وسلم) ‘Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam’ which means ‘Peace and blessings of Allah be upon him’ this is often written as (PBUH) or (SAAW).

Similarily when referring to any Prophet we say (عليه السلام) ‘Alayhi as-Salaam’ after the name, e.g. Isa عليه السلام which means Jesus ‘Peace be upon him’.

Knowledge For All