Jannah (جنّة‎) is the Islamic word for paradise or heaven, Jannah means ‘Garden’. In Muslim belief, everything one longs for in this world, will be there in Paradise. In contrast to Jannah, the words      Jahannam and Nār are used to refer to the concept of hell.

Doors of Jannah
According to hadith, there are eight doors of Jannah:
1. Baab us-Salat: For those who were punctual in prayer.
2. Baab ul-Jihad: For those who took part in jihad.
3. Baab us-Sadaqah: For those who gave charity more often.
4. Baab ur-Rayyan: For those who fasted (As-Sawm).
5. Baab ul-Hajj: For those participated in the annual pilgrimage.
6. Baab ul-Kaazimeenal Ghaiz Wal ‘Aafina ‘Anin Naas: For those who forgave others and withheld their anger.
7. Baab ul-Aiman: For those who by virtue of their faith are saved from reckoning and chastisement.
8. Baab udh-Dhikr: For those who showed passion in remembering God.

Seven Heavens
The Qur’an mentions seven heavens of Jannah:   ‘See you not how Allah has created the seven heavens one above another, and made the moon a light in their midst, and made the sun a Lamp?’ (Surat Nuh, Verses 15–16)

1. Firdaus (the highest)
2. ‘Adn
3. Na’iim
4. Na’wa
5. Darussalaam
6. Daarul Muaqaamah
7. Al-Muqqamul Amin
8. Khuldi (the lowest)

Firdaus (فردوس) In the Qur’an it is stated that Firdaus is the highest level and the most centered part of Jannah where the prophets, the martyrs and the most truthful and pious people will dwell. It is said that their palaces and castles are made of diamonds and gold.

The Qur’an states: ‘Verily, those who believe in the Oneness of Allah and do righteous deeds, shall have Gardens of Al-Firdaus(Paradise) for their entertainment.’ (Surat 18, Verse 107).

Knowledge For All