The Qur’an

The Qur’an was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (صلي الله عليه وسلم) at the age of 40 by the Angel Jibrail (Gabriel) over 23 years.

Muslims believe that each revelation was sent to confirm the message sent before and that the Qur’an, the final revelation, is the final, complete and unchangeable direct word of Allah.

The Qur’an names the previous books and confirms that in their original forms they were the direct word of Allah, but have been destroyed or changed and added to over time. Previous texts were intended for a particular group of people or nation at a specific time. The Qur’an is for all people to the end of time.

The Qur’an exists exactly as it was revealed to Prophet Muhammad (صلي الله عليه وسلم). It has not been changed in any way and it was revealed in Arabic.

The Qur’an was compiled shortly after the death of the Prophet by the Caliph Uthman, in order to preserve its contents.

There are 114 Surat (Chapters) in the Qur’an.

All the Surat except one (Surah At-Tawbah) begin with the sentence بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم  (bismi-llāhi r-raḥmāni r-raḥīm), In the name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

The Qur’an is treated with immense respect by Muslims because it is the sacred and direct word of Allah for all mankind.

Knowledge For All